---
id: AA-00924
title: "Template Database FAQ"
url: http://netaphor.com/kb/AA-00924/template-database-faq
product: "SiteAudit Hosted"
type: "How-to & configuration"
updated: 2026-06-18
access: public
---


# Template Database FAQ

## What Is A Template Database?

A template database is a SiteAudit Hosted Client database used exclusively for sharing configuration with one or more Hosted Clients. A Hosted administrator configures things such as threshold and notification rules and then assigns the template database to the desired Hosted Client databases.

## How Do I Get A Template Database?

To acquire a database that can be used as a template for your Hosted Client customers, request a template database from your Hosted Server administrator

## How Do I Access My Template Database?

A template is nothing more than a Hosted Client database. Hosted Administrators can access all of their Hosted Client databases including the template databases

## Can I Use An Existing Hosted Client Database As A Template?

It is recommended that only template databases be used.

## Which Configuration Information Can A Template Share With Hosted Clients?

The following configuration information can be shared with Hosted Clients using a template

- Mail Server Configuration
- Threshold Rules
- Notification Rules
- Work Hours Calendars
- Service Level Agreements

## Can A Hosted Client Be Assigned More Than One Template?

No. A Hosted Client can use at most one template. It is not possible to inherit templates meaning that a template cannot be assigned another template.

## Are Template Changes Automatically Applied To Hosted Clients?

No. Template changes are only applied when the template is assigned to a Hosted Client. Therefore, in order for changes to be applied

- Select the Hosted Client databases
- Choose *Assign *from the *Templates *menu
- Select the template to assign and click OK to apply

## What Happens When A Template Is Removed From A Hosted Client?

All configuration information that was included in the template is deleted from the client. Therefore,

- when a threshold rule is deleted, any unresolved incidents generated by the rule will be resolved
- when a notification rule is deleted, notifications can no longer be sent for the conditions it tested
- when a service level agreement is deleted, it is converted to a local rule and its conditions are retained with the device
- when the mail server configuration is deleted, the client will use the local mail server configuration if one had been configured

## Can I Delete Rules Assigned From A Template?

Rules that include the text (from template) come from the template assigned to the database. These rules cannot be altered or moved.

## How Many Customers Can a Template Be Assigned?

It is recommended that a single template be applied to no more than 100 customers

## Template Assignment Behavior

The following table shows the expected behaviors for template assign, unassign, and push. Note that these actions may remove all existing custom field data.

| Template | Database | Action | Database Result |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
|  | locally created custom fields | Assign | custom fields and values removed |
| custom fields | locally created custom fields | Assign | locally created custom fields and values removed, custom fields from template added |
| custom fields | custom fields from template | Assign | existing custom fields and values removed, custom fields from template added |
| custom fields |  | Assign | custom fields from template added |
| custom fields | custom fields from template | Push | custom fields updated from template and values not removed |
| custom fields | locally created custom fields | Push | custom fields updated from template and values not removed |
|  | locally created custom fields | Push | no change |
| custom fields |  | Push | custom fields from template added |
|  | locally created custom fields | Unassign | custom fields and values removed |
| custom fields | custom fields from template | Unassign | custom fields and values removed |
